BREAKING: Tinubu wins APC Presidential primary


National leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has emerged presidential candidate of the party, winning the presidential primary by a landslide.

Tinubu polled 1,271 to defeat former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and by a landslide.

Amaechi polled 316 votes to come second while Osinbajo got 235 votes to come third.

Senate President, Ahmad Lawan scored 152 votes to come fourth in the presidential primary.

Chairman of the Election Management Committee, Atiku Bagudu declared Tinubu winner of the presidential primary, having polled 1,271, which is the majority score.

The primary was held on Tuesday and Wednesday by the APC to choose its presidential flagbearer.

Signs that Tinubu would win the primary by a landslide emerged on Tuesday night when seven key aspirants in the race stepped down for Tinubu, while an unknown aspirant, Dr. Nicholas Felix was the only one who stepped down for Osinbajo.

Those who stepped down for Tinubu are: Dr. Kayode Fayemi, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, Dimeji Bankole, Alhaji Mohammed Badaru, Mrs. Uju Ohanenye, Senator Robert Ajayi Boroffice and Godswill Akpabio.

At least, 14 presidential aspirants contested the primary election.

They are Mr Chukwuemeka Nwajuba, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Mr Ahmed Rufai, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Mr Jack Rich, Governor Ben Ayade, Gov. David Umuahi, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, Senator Ahmed Yarima, Dr Ahmed Lawal, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo, Mr Rotimi Amaechi, Governor Yahaya Bello and Mr Ogbonnaya Onu.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here